Blog
October 7, 2026

Can Customers Upload a Photo to Try On Clothes on Shopify?

Yes. Shopify shoppers can upload a photo on the PDP and see the garment on themselves. Photo try-on flow, app table, and pricing checked 7 October 2026.

Aaron
Aaron
16 mins read

Yes. On Shopify, a clothing shopper can upload a photo on the product page and see that SKU rendered on their own image. Antla does this in the browser: no shopper app, no 3D garment file. The output is an appearance preview, not a size recommendation.

The control sits next to the gallery and the size selector, which is where the hesitation actually lives. Most of the App Store roundups that rank for this query are listings that say “photo-based” in the title. Shopify’s own AR try-on article folds a still-photo upload into the same bucket as a live camera overlay, then recommends a different set of apps. This page is the merchant walkthrough: what the shopper does, which listings actually say “upload a photo,” what happens to the file, and what the picture is not allowed to prove.

Run a clothing try-on on a catalog at Antla.io/demo. That page is a booking link, not the shopper upload UI. The upload happens on your product page after install.

The upload lives on the product page, not in a shopper app

A fashion PDP already asks the shopper to translate a studio model into her own body. Baymard’s apparel UX research treats that translation as the category problem: how to convey fit and feel through product visuals, size guidance, and image interaction. Photo try-on is one more visual, generated from her picture rather than yours.

The path is short enough to QA on a phone in one sitting.

  1. She opens a product page for a dress, top, or jacket.
  2. She taps Try on (or whatever label you set).
  3. She uploads a photo from the camera roll, or takes one in the browser.
  4. The app generates a still image of her wearing that SKU.
  5. She adds the item to cart, tries another product, or closes the preview and stays on the gallery.

No headset. No download from the App Store on her phone. If she declines the upload, she shops the existing photos. There is no invented fallback mannequin for a refused upload.

A selfie is enough when the torso is in frame, which is the usual case for a top. A full-body, well-lit shot shows more of a dress or a coat. Antla has not published a minimum resolution. The live selfie-to-model write-up is full-body try-on from a single selfie if the shopper only has a face crop.

I’d QA this on a phone first, with a real dress SKU, before you enable the rest of the catalog. Desktop works. Most fashion PDP traffic does not start there.

A usable photo vs a useless one

The model does not rescue a dark bathroom mirror shot. Coach the shopper in one line next to the button, not in a policy PDF.

What helps the render

  • Standing, facing the camera, with the part of the body the garment covers actually visible
  • Lighting that shows the outline of the torso or the full silhouette
  • A similar neckline or sleeve length to what she plans to wear, so the preview is not fighting a bulky hoodie
  • Enough distance that a midi dress is not cropped at the hip

What usually wastes a generation

  • A crop that cuts off the garment area (a face-only selfie for trousers)
  • Heavy backlight, motion blur, or a group photo
  • A product image on your side that is a back view, a hanger close-up, or a lifestyle crop that hides the front construction

Front-facing product photography is the merchant half of this. If images[0] is the back of the jacket, pick a different source image in setup. The try-on copies what you feed it: inventing a hood or a chest logo that is not on the packshot is a bad render, not a feature.

You do not need a 3D scan of the garment. Photo try-on reads the Shopify product image you already have.

You already have the files the app needs

AR overlays that need a modeled garment are a different project. Shopify’s virtual fitting room guide splits that stack into live-camera AR, AI, and 3D assets, and it names fit and style uncertainty as the two barriers a preview is supposed to reduce. Photo try-on is the AI still-image path: your catalog photo in, shopper photo in, composite out.

For a Shopify clothing store that means:

  • Install from the App Store
  • Place the try-on on the product template (Antla’s listing does not name a theme app extension; several competitors do)
  • Choose which products are enabled
  • Keep your size chart or size app where it already is

Antla has no size chart or size recommendation of its own. It sits beside whatever Shopify size app you already run. Pairing visual try-on with sizing tools is the point, not a replacement. The split is in virtual try-on vs size recommendation.

Install sequence, including which SKUs to start with, is how to add virtual try-on to Shopify.

Antla plans on antla.io/pricing on 7 October 2026: Trend $19.99/month (100 try-ons, then $0.16 each); Runway $49.99/month (500 try-ons, then $0.12); Unlimited Fashion $199.99/month (2,000 try-ons, then $0.09). Every plan includes a 7-day free trial. There is no free plan.

Photo-upload apps on the Shopify App Store (7 October 2026)

Prices and upload wording below were taken from live listings on 7 October 2026. They change. Open the listing before you install.

AppListing says shoppers upload a photo?Free planEntry paid planBuilt for ShopifyListing
AntlaYes: “From a single photo, show shoppers how good they look”No (7-day free trial)$19.99/month (Trend: 100 try-ons, then $0.16)Yesapps.shopify.com/antla
EganAI AI Virtual Try-OnYes: “Customers tap it, upload a selfie”; theme app extensions namedYes, 25 try-ons/month$19.99/month (150 try-ons, then $0.12)Not statedapps.shopify.com/virtual-try-on-9
Try It OnYes: “upload a photo”; theme extension namedYes, 10 try-ons/month$49/month (100 try-ons)Not statedapps.shopify.com/try-it-on-4
Try It On ‑ AI OutfitYes: “upload a photo” (Wave Digital Studio; separate app from the row above)Yes, 5 credits$25/month (150 credits, then $0.08)Not statedapps.shopify.com/virtual-try-it-on
TryMeeYes: “Customers upload a photo”10 credits, one-time offer$19 one-time (200 credits; not a monthly plan)Not statedapps.shopify.com/trymee
Try On TwinYes: “upload a photo and preview how products look on them”No (7-day free trial)$19/month (150 try-ons, then $0.12)Not statedapps.shopify.com/try-on-twin
TryOnCloudYes: “Shoppers upload a photo”; drag-and-drop theme block namedYes, 10 try-ons (“Free Trail” on the listing)$19/month (100 try-ons, then $0.19)Not statedapps.shopify.com/tryoncloud
GenLookYes: “They upload one photo”; theme block namedYes, 10 try-ons/month$19.99/month (100 try-ons, then $0.17)Yesapps.shopify.com/genlook-virtual-try-on

What the table is for: confirming that photo upload is a normal Shopify clothing-app input in 2026, not a custom build. What it is not for: ranking render quality. None of those listings publish a lab score. Test on your fabric, your prints, and your front packshots.

Shopify’s AR article names Virtual Try On (Nivera), Camweara, and OnYou instead of this set. Those may be fine tools. They are not the photo-upload listings that currently sit on this query. If you are comparing Antla and GenLook on dated listing facts, use Antla vs GenLook.

Shopify’s AR article is answering a different camera

Live-camera AR maps a garment onto a video feed. Photo try-on generates a still. Shopify’s 26 August 2025 piece treats both as “AR clothing try-on,” including “uploading a static photo that then gets dressed.” That taxonomy is why a merchant Googling “can customers upload a photo” lands on an AR explainer.

The operational difference matters:

Live-camera ARPhoto try-on (this page)
Shopper inputCamera session, often with trackingOne still, from camera roll or in-browser capture
Merchant assetOften a 3D or tracked garment fileExisting Shopify product image
OutputReal-time overlayGenerated still the shopper can keep looking at
Typical clothing jobMotion, jewelry, eyewear, some apparelDresses, tops, outerwear on a Shopify PDP

That same Shopify fitting-room guide cites the National Retail Federation at an over 19% return rate for online purchases in 2025. Apparel sits above that because fit is hard to judge on a screen. A photo preview does not close every return. It answers the “on me” picture that a size chart cannot.

Do not paste Perfitly’s “up to 64% fewer returns” from that AR article onto Antla. It is a vendor claim about a different product.

Seventy-two hours, then the file is gone

Treat the upload as personal data. Put one sentence next to the button, and point at your store policy plus Antla’s.

Antla’s privacy policy says: “Images are deleted and not accessible within 72 hours.”

That is the only retention claim this page makes. It does not say images are never stored. It does not say they are, or are not, used to train models. Read the current privacy policy.

If a shopper later sends the generated look, that send is a separate copy. Sharing is documented on virtual try-on social sharing for Shopify.

Antla is Built for Shopify certified on the listing. It is not SOC 2 or ISO certified.

The render is not a size rec

A generated still can show color, print, neckline, sleeve shape, length, and whether the silhouette looks like her. It cannot tell her whether the waistband closes, how the fabric feels, or which label in your chart maps to her body.

Keep the size selector. Keep the chart. Keep model measurements. Photo try-on is the layer for “looked different on me,” not for “I should have ordered M.”

Shopify’s conversion-rate guide (updated 22 August 2026) defines ecommerce conversion as orders divided by visits. Do not mix that store-wide rate with a try-on-user rate. Across more than 500,000 completed Antla try-ons, users who finished a preview convert at 3.8%, which is a cohort figure, not your tomorrow-morning Shopify overview. The denominators are unpacked in Shopify virtual try-on conversion.

Four events worth wiring before you celebrate

Antla docs fire storefront events with an antla_ prefix. For an upload-driven PDP, the useful four are:

EventWhat it tells you
antla_modal_openSomeone started the try-on
antla_image_upload_successA photo actually arrived
antla_image_generated_successA preview came back
antla_product_added_to_cartThe try-on session reached cart

Watch the drop between open and upload, then between upload and generate. A pretty button that nobody photographs is a placement problem. Uploads that error are a photo-quality or device problem. Completions that never add to cart may be a price, stock, or “this looks wrong on me” problem, which is still a useful no.

Do not invent a start-rate or a completion-rate for the network. Measure yours. If you only have time for one SKU this week, pick the dress with the most “not as pictured” returns and run the upload yourself.

Questions merchants ask before they turn on upload

Do customers need to download an app to try on clothes on Shopify?

No. Photo try-on for clothing runs in the storefront browser. The shopper stays on the product page, uploads or takes a photo, and sees a still. They do not install a shopper app to generate the preview.

Can they use a photo already on their phone?

Yes. The usual path is the camera roll on mobile, or the in-browser camera. A full-body, well-lit photo shows more of a dress. A selfie works for a top when the torso is visible. Antla has not published a minimum resolution.

Does photo try-on dress a full outfit in one tap?

On Antla, the flow is per product page: one SKU at a time from the catalog image you enabled. This page does not claim an outfit builder. She can generate another item after the first.

What happens to the uploaded photo?

Antla’s privacy policy says images are deleted and not accessible within 72 hours. Do not tell shoppers the file is never stored.

What if a shopper will not upload a photo?

They skip try-on and use the gallery, size chart, and reviews like any other visit. Do not block add to cart behind the upload.

Does the preview tell them which size to buy?

No. Antla has no size chart or size recommendation of its own. It works alongside any Shopify size app. The picture is appearance. Fit still belongs on the chart.

How long does generation take?

This page does not publish a median. The shopper stays on the product page. Time the flow on your own catalog during the 7-day trial.

Is Antla SOC 2 or ISO certified?

No. Antla is Built for Shopify certified. It is not SOC 2 or ISO certified.


About the author: Aaron leads Antla and would rather a merchant time one dress upload on a phone than argue about AR taxonomies in a deck.

Pick one SKU whose return tag is “looked different.” Run the photo flow on a phone. If the still is honest enough to sit next to add to cart, install from the App Store listing in the table above and keep your size app where it is.